Public Papers

Statement by Press Secretary Fitzwater on Narcotics Control Certification


The President has decided today to certify by Presidential determination that the following major drug-producing and/or major transit countries have fully cooperated with the United States or taken adequate measures of their own to combat drug production, trafficking, and money laundering:

The Bahamas, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Hong Kong, India, Jamaica, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, and Thailand.

The certification of Lebanon has been determined by the President to be of national interest to the United States. The President has decided not to certify Afghanistan, Burma, Iran, and Syria.

In addition to sending a clear message to countries which are not committed in any way to fighting drugs, decertification precludes the receipt of assistance, except for antidrug programs, from the United States.

The President's decision is based on the State Department's annual International Narcotics Control Strategy Report (INCSR), which is presented to the Congress on March 1 of each year.